Eggs Benedict, or “I hate making hollandaise” for dinner

I haven’t participated in a Daring Cooks challenge in a long while, but here it is and with one of my favorite dishes!

Jenn and Jill have challenged The Daring Cooks to learn to perfect the technique of poaching an egg. They chose Eggs Benedict recipe from Alton Brown, Oeufs en Meurette from Cooking with Wine by Anne Willan, and Homemade Sundried Tomato & Pine Nut Seitan Sausages (poached) courtesy of Trudy of Veggie num num.

I have been poaching eggs for a while now, so it turns out that the challenge for me was the hollandaise sauce. I had to make it twice. That doesn’t happen a lot but then, I generally try to avoid things that need absolute precision. Hollandaise does. I still have no idea where things when wrong the first time around, but I ended up with a curdled globby mess.
The second time was the charm, though! I’m glad to say that I have perfected the Hollandaise but I think I’ll still keep this as my go-to dish when eating breakfast OUT. It takes far too long to make for breakfast for myself. That said, take a look at this, and tell me that doesn’t have you looking forward to your next breakfast out?
6 Comments

Filed under Food

6 responses to “Eggs Benedict, or “I hate making hollandaise” for dinner

  1. Yeah, Hollandaise is a delicate one… I’ve made it 3 times in my life, failed once. I think the real issue is temperature – if it gets too hot, the egg curdles and you get “cooked egg in butter”, not that nice! 🙂 And one less whisk and/or a slightly higher temperature can apparently have dramatic consequences… Not easy!
    Glad you finally made it, though – it does look awesome 🙂

    • katlily09

      Thank you so much! I’ll definitely try it again, but not for breakfast! I do love poached eggs and look forward to making some duck confit using the poaching method.

  2. Suz

    That looks great! Fabulous yolk and hollandaise. Mmm. I do agree about the amount of work involved. Relaxing brunches shouldn’t involve that much whisking!

    I’m loving the sound of duck confit too.

  3. I think it looks beautiful! Glad we were still able to *challenge* you with the hollandaise, and you had a success the 2nd time 🙂 Yeah hollandaise does take some gentle babysitting, it sounds like it got too hot the first time…

  4. I couldn’t agree more. Just because we can cook it, doesn’t mean we have too. I just might go out for eggs benny this Sunday. Nice work on the challenge.

  5. We can do nothing but agree. Hollandaise is great as part of a Breakfast Dish, but hard to justify the time it takes to ‘whip’ up.

    Well done!
    Stay JOLLY!
    D&S

Leave a Reply

