Happy Hanukkah or, May the Force Be with You

Is there a better way to begin the festival of lights than by eating latkes and Star Wars cookies?

Ok, this might not be the most logical pairings, but does it help to know that I’m not actually Jewish? One of my friends called me an honorary Jew once, but only because I genuinely like matzohs and always remember her holidays. Does anyone really need a reason to make latkes? I’ve never really made latkes before, but I had an idea: potatoes, onions, fried. How hard could it be?

Turns out, not hard at all. I had my husband grate the potatoes, I chopped onions, added salt, pepper, flour and baking soda and it worked! They turned out delicious and went really well with the leftover apple sauce that my sister made from Thanksgiving. If everyone had latkes tonight, it would be a happy first night of light indeed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And what about the force?

John got some Star Wars cookie cutters for his birthday and we never had a chance to use them. Our toddler has wanted to make Christmas cookies since we put our tree up on Sunday. I couldn’t think of a better way to make her happy and get myself some Star Wars chocolate gingerbread cookies. Despite burning the first batch, they turned out very nice. We undercooked the 2nd batch just a smidge and they were chewy, spicy and chocolatey. I found the recipe here.

So, Happy Hanukkah and I hope everyone has a great holiday season!

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Food

One response to “Happy Hanukkah or, May the Force Be with You

  1. ok the funny thing is I also made latkes! Peruvian purple, Yukon, and Okinawan sweets, mixed with the onions and just a pinch of dill. served with a little lemon creme fraiche. but the real hoot was I was just looking at those cookie cutters, and was wondering how the product came out, thanks for answering that question for me! I cannot wait to make some real money, then I am coming to see Johnny at his new digs!!! I hope all are well. Keep Writing, it’s keeping me connected as you know my current endeavor has nothing to do with food (even though we like to eat.)

Leave a Reply

