Butter Chicken

There is nothing to distract from a bad day like cooking. Cooking forces me to focus on a given task and, unless I want to eat bad food hours later, I don’t tend to stray. Well, with the exception of a Facebook update on the meal, that is.
John and I had the sort of day where you spend hours trying to get in touch with the insurance company, help desk, doctor’s office, mortgage company, etc. only to find out that you are really, really screwed.
Since John is currently between jobs, we were really counting an my adjunct work to get us through the Spring. I found out today that I am going to have two classes instead of four. If you don’t know what an adjunct is, the technical definition is a part time college instructor. The reality is, adjuncts are the bitches of whatever department they belong to. We do the same amount of work (minus meetings), don’t get an office, and get paid 1/4th of a full time instructor’s salary. Why do we do it? We love it and we love our students. And we hope that, one day, someone higher up will notice us and we will be full time. There are exceptions; there are adjuncts who have retired from full time teaching and do it part time because they want to, and I’m sure there are others, but for most of us, we would be more than happy to set up in an office in our department.

It hasn’t been a good day. Our daughter basically cried from sun up to bed time. So, I decided to try out a new recipe, courtesy of Recipezaar and Fairy Nuff:

http://www.recipezaar.com/Indian-Butter-Chicken-86753

It’s simmering right now and I might have burnt the cauliflower that I added to the recipe (had to cook it today or throw it out) because I was writing here, but I think it’s going to be good. I picked up a giant pack of Naan from Costco that doesn’t look too bad, so I’ll heat that up and slather it with butter as an accompaniment. While we eat dinner, we will forget the bullshit that we’ve had to endure today. Our bellies will be full and so will our hearts. Our minds will hopefully be blissfully empty. We might even laugh. Right now, I can’t ask for more than that.

Some notes on the recipe: I left the sugar out, used diced tomato + water instead of puree, and added salt and black pepper and at the last minute or two, frozen peas, the magic ingredient to most saucy dishes.

You want to see it? Sure! Here are some photos:

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Food, Recipe

3 responses to “Butter Chicken

  1. I’ve bookmarked the recipe for when Levi’s home. If the commentators are right and this is like tandoori chicken, I bet that I’ll like it. :)

  2. Brittany

    So happy to see you posted this. We used to make this with an Indian friend of Tim’s when I visited him at Drexel. Loved it so much, but lost the recipe. I’ve been meaning to make it again so this definitely inspires me. Thanks for the recipe…it sure will bring back memories. Love buttered chicken and Naan!!! Keep up the great cooking!!

  3. Margaret

    Looks Fabulous! Made me hungry!

Leave a Reply

